Arrival - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Martijn Eijnatten - WaarBenJij.nu Arrival - Reisverslag uit Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië van Martijn Eijnatten - WaarBenJij.nu

Arrival

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Martijn

04 September 2015 | Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Well, I don't believe I am someone who would keep a blog of some sort, but sharing photo's on Facebook wouldn't do.

Let's start at the beginning of the trip. The journey towards Malaysia. I took a flight from Schiphol to Kuala Lumpur, changing plane at London Heathrow. The final day had come and so far I intended to travel alone. Luckily I received a message from a fellow Dutch student who came via MDBC as well. It turned out that he would have the same flight. So we met at Schiphol past the security and travelled together. The first trip was horrible. The one hour flight to London delayed us approximately 1.5h whilst we had less than two hours to change planes. Fortunately we didn't have to switch terminals and made it in time, wondering wether our luggage would have made it as well.

The next 12.5h were fine, watched two movies and slept most of the time. Once we arrived in Kuala Lumpur we had to pass immigration. Apparently they don't recognise the single entry visa I gained in The Netherlands so I received a special stamp for only 30 days, more about this in a later update.

With a flat battery that died after one single message, we were collected by another student. He brought us to Mutiara, the appartment complex we are residing at. The photo's are already on Facebook. I met my housemates and already went out with other students residing at Mutiara that night. One of my housemates showed me Changkat, where most of the bars and clubs are.

Thursday I managed to get my phone blocked by trying to switch sim-cards. Couldn't use my phone again till after the cultural briefing from MDBC. The briefing was quite interesting, informing us about MDBC itself but also about the local culture, including the religious police. The dinner after the cultural briefing (still with MDBC) was the first time I ate the local food. In general quite nice however I really have to adapt.

So today I went to work for the first time. Takes approximately 45 minutes to get there but the road is quite simple. I haven't seen a lot of the hotel yet, but I can tell that the entrance of the hotel is astonishing. WOW. After meeting a couple of employees I had my uniform session and went home again. The rest of the day I actually spend around the pool, getting some sweet sour chicken and relaxing a bit. Probably going out tonight and some shopping tomorrow.

Whilst writing this blog a sudden (heavy) thunderstorm came by. Glad to be inside, poor people who couldn't make it in time..

That's it for the first few days. I'll try to update the blog once every few days.

Martijn

Tags: Internship

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Maleisië, Kuala Lumpur

Martijn

Actief sinds 04 Sept. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 973
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1496

Voorgaande reizen:

01 September 2015 - 01 Februari 2016

Malaysia

Landen bezocht: